top of page

Largess Derby: Brooch Brigade

Updated: Jan 14, 2021


Research. Sculpting. Pewter.

Materials: ​Sculpey clay, MoldMax silicone, R98 Pewter, tools

East Kingdom Shire Wars IX Largess Derby and A&S Display, November 2020


"I may have fallen down a research rabbit-hole..." -Cailleach Dhe ingen Chiarain

​​


As mentioned in my "Spoon" post, I learned the very basics of pewter-pouring at an event in Caid in 2015. I also stated in that post that I would be doing more going forward. Well... have I!


I was inspired by both a side-project that has not yet been posted, as well as a SCAdian friend who has been doing metalsmithing live feeds during COVID, to look for extant pieces to copy and create in a medium I can work with. Another SCAdian gave me means to fulfill this outlet, as mentioned in my documentation. A long session of scrolling through Pinterest lead me to this simple, yet elegant, 6th Century Frankish Whorl Brooch. The original was found in a grave in a cemetery at Bréban, Marne , France, believed to have belonged to a high-ranking female. The design was simple enough that I, as an untrained artist, could sculpt it and it lended well to the capabilities of pewter.


For this project, I have decided to take two paths: the first in pewter, as means to feel the shape and purpose of this brooch and project, and the second to be done more historically accurate.


The first round is meant for donation via the East Kingdom Shire Wars IX Largess Derby, in which an individual must submit twelve of an item made by them and them alone. To do this efficiently in the very short timespan to deadline, as well as economically, I have chosen pewter as my metal for this project. I have also chosen to display this project at the Shire Wars A&S Display. I am so used to being a wall-flower, ready to serve my Kingdom behind the scenes, that putting myself out for public view is quite unnerving. But these are crazy times, and I serve as I can... with art.


I am truly honored, as I have won the Consuls' choice vote for this competition!


To learn about my process, please read:


Full A&S documentation, including step-by-step photos:


One Page Documentation:





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page