top of page

Laurel's Challenge: Step Outside Your Comfort Zone

Updated: Jul 21, 2021

Brooches. Documentation. Do The Thing.

Materials: Soapstone, pewter, aluminum, modern tools

Challenge by Mistress Amy Webb



"Well hell... if I'm going to do the chain, I'm going to do the WHOLE THING!" -Cailleach, 2017


UPDATE 7/21/2021: Unfortunately, after (finally) receiving a copy of the book cited by the auction company, the Luistari provenance of this item is incorrect. I am attempting to redirect and find the actual source, but thusfar have hit a roadblock.



The Challenge: Stretch That Comfort Zone! The Laurel: Amy Webbe The Details: Just about every artisan has that “thing” that intimidates them. Maybe it’s a stitch you’ve not tried before; maybe it’s a tool you keep making excuses not to use. Whatever it is, I challenge to you try it- you don’t have to love it, but make an attempt. Tell us what your reaction is to finally doing the thing you’ve been consciously or unconsciously avoiding in your art! The Art: 9th-10th century AD. A complete ensemble of two pierced plate brooches and their decorative chain attachments; the brooches tinned, with a pierced rectangular headplate and pierced expanding triangular footplate, to the reverse of each a spiral fitting to secure the ends of a pair of finely-wrought chains formed from double-links, of unequal length in order to allow the outer chain to hang below and parallel to the inner. 170 grams, 71.5cm total; brooches: 61mm each (16 1/4"). From an important British collection; acquired 1990s. Cf. Lehtosalo-Hilander, P-L., Luistari (Finland), A History of Weapons and Ornaments, grave 1260; plate 57, item 7. (Pinterest)


The S..T..R..E..T..C..H..E..S Beyond Comfort:

For this challenge, I am stepping out of my comfort zone in multiple ways:

*Entering another A&S challenge, when I’m usually found quietly doing Service

*Making my first soapstone mold

*Creating the mold using a negative sculpt

*Finding my hypothetical methodology was WRONG

*Creating the piece anyway, using this as a learning experience

*Submitting incomplete documentation, using only secondary sources and photographs from Pinterest, due to timing issues of validating provenance

*While chainmaille is my go-to art, I have never coiled and cut my own rings before.



The Process:


Special thanks to:

* His Excellency Declan Gohba for the slice of soapstone used for this project

* Lady Ástrídr Sægeirsdottir for talking soapstone carving methodology with me, showing me it wasn't so scary

* Mistress Lissa Underhill for her suggestions and coveting the brooches

* Dame Ysmay de Lynn for reminding me I can do the thing.. and what the thing was to do

* THL Arabella de Mere for gifting me this photograph, and knowing why it was needed



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page