top of page

Silver Wheel: a 6th Century Merovingian Wonder

Updated: Jan 10, 2021


Award Medallion. Pewter. Rabbit hole.

Materials: ​Sculpey clay, MoldMax silicone, R98 Pewter, tools

Don Morwill MacShane Order of the Silver Wheel, January 2021


"May I please have your citation for this source?"

​​


In researching my Merovingian Whorl Brooch, I fell even further down the research rabbit hole than I ever thought possible, to the point of asking one of my sources for their initial citation. As it turns out, the whorl brooch was found in a grave that also held brooches that resemble our own East Kingdom Order of The Silver Wheel which is an award "given for service that benefits the local group, Kingdom, or Society." (SCA.org)


The extent brooch that I used for my pattern was found in a different grave than the whorl, from a cemetery in Northern France; Stanislas Baron, Paris (Met). As with the whorl brooch, the design of this wheel was simple enough that I felt, as an untrained artist, that I could sculpt it.




For this project, I have decided to create brooches in two different sizes for versatility of wearability of the medallion versus brooch. I used enamel paint for the inner areas between the spokes, and a Swarovski crystal in place of the faceted garnet.


A&S documentation can be found here:



To learn more about my process, please read:





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page