top of page

Kingdom Award Medallions: Show Your Bling Thing

Updated: Mar 5, 2021

Silver Wheel. Silver Brooch. Maunch.

Materials: ​Sculpey clay, MoldMax silicone, R98 Pewter, Pebeo paint, crochet cotton, tools

Kingdom Award Medallions, donated March 2021


"I will not say no to more medallions. I'd like to give out hand made ones first." -Vox Regis, East Kingdom



I continued down my research rabbit hole into the finds of 6th Century Merovingian jewelry. While the internet holds much information, sometimes a book is also required. But alas, the postal service being slower than snails, I had to wait for that shiny little book to arrive. And so. I had time on my hands. End result: more Kingdom award medallions!


While showing and presenting the friend who got me involved in the SCA with a Silver Brooch medallion, she laughingly said that I'd make Maunch and Silver Crescent next. I guess she knows me pretty well! The Maunch is complete, and Silver Crescent is on my to do list, with a custom Elevation token request coming first.


The methodology of creation being the same as before gave me more practice to make progress. I am much happier with my sculpt of the new Silver Brooch, and used the two-layer technique of the Silver Wheel to create the Maunch. I will admit to tracing the "M", because of the importance to get it just right. Tracing is period! The color is Pebeo Moon oil-based paint, with the purple being a hand-mixed shade specifically for these medallions.


Trivia tidbit: the Maunch (Manche) is actually a sleeve style from the 12th-14th Century!


As the snowy craziness of 2021 continues, much time at home has created restlessness, and so I have also created three-strand finger loop braid cords for these medallions. Finger loop braiding is a well-documented method of cording found, with the process even shown in paintings. Each of these is made with Aunt Lydia's #10 crochet cotton.

 

Citations


“Etcetera - The East Kingdom.” East Kingdom Orders and Awards, www.sca.org/awards/east.html.

Accessed Jan. 8, 2021

“Manche.” Merriam-Webster, Merriam-Webster, www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/manche.

Accessed Feb. 1, 2021

Museum, Victoria and Albert. “Manuscript: Unknown: V&A Explore The Collections.” Victoria and Albert Museum: Explore the Collections, collections.vam.ac.uk/item/O11031/manuscript-unknown/.

Accessed Feb. 20, 2021



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page